Sausage Shakshuka

DSC_0416

I think the fact that I haven’t posted a blog post since last Summer is an effective indicator of how chaotic and busy my life has been. Within this last half a year, I’ve been promoted at work, subsequently told at work that I was not going to be given my own project and should find another job, studied for and took the GMAT, and found a new job. My stress levels were catastrophic, to say the least, and that chaos did not allow me to keep up with my blog the way I should have, amongst many other important things.

But now I’m back and ready to start the new year fresh! I start a new job as a retail inventory planner at Williams Sonoma in Gourmet Foods on Monday, and I am ready to rock it. I look back on the absolute torment that was the emotional roller coaster of these last few months and can’t help but smile contentedly that I made it through that, and that I can look forward to better things to come. I’ve learned so much from my time at my last job- more than just healthcare consulting- and I vow know that I will never again let me doubt myself, emotionally terrorize myself, or let others put me down. I am much more than my old job knew, and now I’m going to prove it.

Enough for now about life’s woes. On to some cooking!!

I passed a small shop in my neighborhood the other day, The Spanish Table, and decided to stop in. Within the tiny walls were the widest assortment of spices, oils, tools, cheeses, books, and cookware from Spain, all beckoning me to try them. I ended up purchasing a splendid ceramic dish which works both on gas burners as well as in the oven- the very type of tool I’ve been looking for! I immediately went home and decided to try my own version of a dish I’ve been meaning to make for forever – Shakshuka.

DSC_0401 (1)

Shakshuka, a Middle Eastern dish that I saw all of the time when I was in Israel, is tomato based, and generally involves lots of delicious spices and accompaniments. It’s generally meant for breakfast, but I won’t stop you from eating it any time of day you desire. The mix of onions and garlic with tomato is incredible, and very tantalizing to the nose (and tastebuds!). Despite how heavy the ingredients were, the egg really helped to lighten the dish, and made it a veritable treat on a Thursday afternoon.

DSC_0404

I, of course, being lazy and wanting to use some of the leftovers in my refrigerator, decided to do my own version of Shakshuka. Although this one has the original tomato base, garlic, and onions, I’ve decided to add in some sausage to help beef it up a bit.

DSC_0407

Ingredients

  • oven safe skillet or dishware
  • 3 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 1/2 yellow onion, diced
  • 2 pieces of garlic, minced
  • 1/2 can tomato paste
  • 1/2 cup tomato sauce (can use pizza or marinara)
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • salt
  • pepper
  • 2 eggs

Instructions

  1. Sauté your garlic and onions in the oil on medium high. Meanwhile, preheat your oven to 375°F.
  2. Once the onions and garlic are soft (approximately 2-3 minutes), add in your sausage and the half of a can of tomato paste. The paste will be hard to work with at first, but don’t give up. Add more oil if you need to.
  3. Once the paste is mixed in with the onions, garlic, and sausage, add the tomato sauce and stir gently for about 2 minutes.
  4. Turn off the heat and make two small indents in the tomato mixture for the eggs. Crack the eggs in, then place the dish in the oven. Bake for 10-12 minutes, depending on how firm you want your eggs.
  5. Enjoy!

DSC_0411

Leave a Reply

