A Special Treat: Super Smash Bros Cake!

cake collage

Every young person dreams of finding a job where she can have fun with her coworkers and really enjoy her time with them, both during and after work. Which is why I consider myself a very, very lucky lady. Tomorrow, after work, my team will be partaking in a self-organized Super Smash Brothers melee (there are nearly 20 of us, so it’s actually feasible) with potlucking and partaking of the wine. I thought it would be fun to surprise my team with a butter vanilla cake decorated like a Mario Mushroom!

The recipe for the cake was converted from a Sable Breton butter cake tart recipe found hereThe recipe itself is incredible easy. I’ll rehash it out here since I had to convert it from metric. 

Ingredients:

  • Cake:
    • 4 egg yolks
    • 2/3 cup butter
    • 1 cup flour
    • 1.5 tsp baking powder
    • 2/3 cup sugar
    • splash of vanilla
  • Frosting
    • 2 cups powdered sugar
    • 1/2 cup butter
    • 2 tspn vanilla

DSC_0240

Start by preheating your oven to 325° F, and buttering a small pan to grease it. The original recipe called for four small round tins, but wanting to make a larger cake, I just placed all of the batter in one dish. I’d like to preface the actual preparation instructions by saying that I had a difficult time following the instructions, so some things were done out of order…

DSC_0241

 

Cream the butter (without melting) with your beaters or a wooden spoon. Once it is creamy and smooth, add in your sugar and mix thoroughly. I like to use electric mixers because a) it’s easier, b) it’s faster, and c) it ends up much smoother and creamier that way.

DSC_0248

 

DSC_0252

 

Add in your yolks to the sugar/butter mixture. Separating yolks from egg whites is not extremely difficult, although it can take a little bit of practice. I ended up saving my discarded egg yolks and making myself breakfast for the next day (no sense in wasting!). Using your mixer, beat it all together thoroughly. This will give it a delicious buttery yellow look. Hopefully, you don’t have any lumps in the mix!

DSC_0249

DSC_0251

 

Next, add together your baking powder, salt, and flour in a separate bowl. Mix loosely with a fork (helps aerate and mix it thoroughly) to get it to mix together. Although I did not take a picture of it, I ended up getting out my sifter (so much fun!) and sifting it all into the bowl of yolk mixture. However, if you don’t have a sifter, this is the time to make sure it all mixes evenly, and there are no lumps!

DSC_0256

DSC_0261

Once the batter is well mixed and smooth, spread it evenly in the greased pan. Place the pan in the oven and set a timer for 15 minutes. I like to set the timer for less than the recipe says as my oven tends to be overactive and burn my baked goods. I ended up baking for a total of 20 minutes, or until a toothpick came out clean from the center of the pan. Thankfully, while baking it smoothed out and lost those ridges above (probably due to the copious amounts of butter), thus making it easier for future frosting!

Once the cake has baked appropriately, set aside to cool! This will take quite a while, so if on a time budget, consider making the cake ahead of time. You can also try putting the cake in the fridge to help it cool, although I feel like that is not the best solution for a delicious, buttery, warm cake like this. :p

DSC_0264

 

While the cake bakes (and cools), you can prepare the frosting by melting the butter in a microwave safe bowl, and then combining all of the frosting ingredients with an electric beater on high speed. I ended up setting aside white frosting for the circles and the eyes, and then just coloring the rest with red food dye.

Spread a nice even portion on the top half of the cake, rounding upward in the middle to create the round shape of the mushroom. Do your best, trust me, it doesn’t have to be perfect.

DSC_0266

Then using a black frosting ( I had to cave and buy a tube of black at Target since I didn’t have black colored dye), shade in the outsides to create the slimness of the bottom portion of the mushroom. Mine ended up looking a little like he had some serious side burns, but I still loved it. Additionally, use the black to create the underpart of the eyes by placing two nice little strips side by side with a small dot of the leftover white at the top.

With that, you have a finished, beautiful Super Smash Bro’s themed Mushroom cake! Bom Apetite!

 

 

Leave a Reply

