Broster Time in the Kitchen Week 4 – Chickpea, Quinoa, and Sweet Potato Stew

This week’s Broster Time in the Kitchen involved one of my favorite recipes ever. I got this recipe from my best friend from childhood, Meagan. While I was in Florida with her this past summer, we cooked and baked up a storm! This was one of the recipes, and it was so good I had to share.

 

While the title for the recipe may not be that inspiring, I promise it is well worth the work . (I was so uninspired by the name, I changed it to “African Stew”. Please know that this is in homage to the plant and culinary innovations that the continent has given us, and is not in any way derogatory). Some notes about changes we made:

 

  • We only added 1/2 teaspoon of chili powder (I’m a weakling, sorry about it), but it wasn’t that noticeable at all. Try following the full amount recommended by the recipe, I don’t think you will be disappointed. 🙂
  • We added red kidney beans to the pot! It was an additional level of yumminess, as well as more protein! If you are keeping this a vegetarian dish, that is a great modification to make.
  • I added more peanut butter than the recipe calls for, mostly because I love peanut butter, but partly because I have found in the past that a little more peanut butter goes a long way to adding “oomph” to the dish. I recommend that, if you are wary of peanut butter, you follow the recipe, taste, and then add in increments until the right amount of peanut butter is reached.

This recipe makes a lot of servings in one batch (we had about six people’s worth in that pot) so make sure to invite some friends over! I was silly and forgot to take pictures before it was all gobbled up! But I was able to catch one last pic so you can see a little bit of what it looked like. You can find the recipe on my Recipe Index page. 🙂

IMG_2992
Bon Appétit!

Leave a Reply

